Back to home page   Old Tauntonians' Association

Home | News | Events | Membership | History | Memorial | Contact Us

Annual General Meeting 2012

The Annual General Meeting of the Old Tauntonians' Association, Southampton was held on Monday 5 March 2012 at 7pm at The Sporting View, Southampton Sports Centre.

You can view the Draft Minutes of this meeting that will be presented for approval at the next AGM in 2013. This document will open in a separate window.

Presented below for your information are the Meeting Agenda, list of Elected Officers and Honorary General Secretary's Annual Report 2011.


  1. Apologies for Absence
  2. Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (held on 7 March 2011)
  3. Matters arising from the Minutes
  4. Correspondence
  5. Reports 2011:
    1. Honorary General Secretary
    2. Honorary Membership Secretary
    3. Honorary Website Manager
    4. Honorary Editor News & Views
    5. Honorary Archivist
  6. Honorary Treasurer's Report 2011
  7. Election of Vice President(s) and Honorary Members
    (In accordance with the Constitution, nominations must have received the prior approval of the Executive Council)
  8. Election of Officers for 2012-2013 (each is an honorary post):
    1. President; Chairman of the Association; General Secretary; Membership Secretary; Website Manager; Treasurer; Editor, News & Views
    2. Election of three Ordinary Members for 2012–2013
  9. Election of Honorary Examiner of Accounts
  10. Any Other Business
    Members may raise questions or matters for discussion relating to the Association but are reminded that the meeting cannot vote on any question or subject discussed.

Top of this page

Elected Officers

The Officers for the year 2012–2013 are:

    President: Ted Colenutt
    Chairman: Roger Parsons
    General Secretary: Bob Newell
    Treasurer: David Bryett
    Membership Secretary:     Jeff White
    News & Views Editor: Bob Newell (Post Vacant)
    Website Manager: Bob Newell

Three Ordinary Members of Council:

    David Brown, Martin Rowe and Paul Skates

Ex-Officio Members of Council:

    Principal (Alice Wrighton)
    Immediate Past President (Jonathan Prest)
    Immediate Past Chairman of Council (John Martin)
    Vice Presidents: Messrs Bathurst, Colenutt, Hodgkinson and Humby.

Top of this page

Honorary General Secretary's Annual Report 2011

1st January 2011 to 31st December 2011

A much quieter year this year! OT events returned to normal with with the Old Tauntonian / Old Bournemouthian Golf Day held in May at the Dibden Golf Club. This was another successful day of golf followed by supper, inevitably well organised by Johnny Bathurst. Summer Lunch. A Summer Lunch was held once again at Keat's Restaurant in August, organised by Johnny Bathurst. This event remains extremely popular with some 70 or so OTs and their wives/partners attending. The principal guest this year was Arthur Spencer.

College Celebration Evening. There was no Celebration Evening for 2011, as the Principal has decided to move this function to early July each year. It is hoped that an OT vice-President will represent the OTA this year at this event.

The Executive Council. The Council met four times during the year. It has been decided to amalgamate the Executive and Dinner committee in order to reduce the number of meetings in the year, as well as make use of the additional capability that becomes available from the members of both committees. We will institute these changes during this year, and make the necessary amendments to the OTA Constitution, bringing it to the next AGM for formal approval. During 2011 the OTA Executive ran a campaign to support an ex-Taunton's College student, Karla Powell with post-graduate music studies at the Guildhall School of Music. Thanks to the generosity of our members, we were able to raise some £4400 to assist this very capable student. The OTA made a grant of £500.

The "100 Club". This continues to flourish under David Bryett, and we continue to market this product to try and improve numbers up to 200+, as it is the income from this fund that maintains the OTA subscription at £5.

News & Views. Two issues of the newsletter were published. Jeff White is particularly thanked for his considerable efforts in preparing the labels and envelopes for the distribution of this publication. We are also indebted to the Chairman who has taken over the duty of getting the print run in the post.

Obituaries. During the period the deaths were reported of: -

Staff: Fred Badcock (1962-89); Peter Munro (1966-94). Ex-Pupils /Students: Ken Ball (1954-59); Terence Croook (1939-46); John Edom (1955-60); Barry Fisher (1936-38); Raymond Gould (1941-47); Terry Hatton (1945-50); Phillip Howell (1938-43); Brian Payne (1943-48); Jack Pead (1944-1949); Ken Russell (1937-39); Edward Underhill (1927-35); Bob Wheal (1926-33);

OTA Web Site. The web site continues to be maintained by the Hon Gen Sec. It is updated throughout the year as necessary.

Bob Newell

7 March 2012

Top of this page

Home | News | Events | Membership | History | Memorial | Contact Us

Copyright © 2021 Old Tauntonians' Association (Southampton)